Who’s Who

Who’s Who

In Ballycarry Presbyterian Church as with other Presbyterian Churches, a group of elders share overall responsibility, along with the minister, for leadership. The practical running of church life (finance, property, administration) come under the congregational committee. Both Elders and committee members are elected from within the church membership.


Ballycarry Presbyterian is currently a vacant congregation with Rev Heather Rendell as convenor.


Minister Emerita - REV. GABRIELLE A. J. FARQUHAR B.A. M.Th

My Calling: In all I am, do and say, and in how I live my life, I strive to be a faithful disciple of Christ, guiding others to ‘HIM’ by being one of ‘HIS’ lights in a broken world.

Our Senior Minister is Rev Gabrielle Farquhar. Installed on 17 September 1994, she was the first ordained woman to be called to a congregation in the Carrickfergus Presbytery.  Gabrielle retired on 31 March 2019.
Brought up in Dublin and worshipped & was ordained an Elder in Abbey Presbyterian, Parnell square. Served as Assistant in Hillsborough Presbyterian & was ordained in January 1993.
Gabrielle is only the 12th Minister of the congregation since its beginnings in 1613.

Clerk of Session

Daphne Bashford was installed as an elder on 22nd May 1977 and has held the position of Clerk of Session since 2009.

Daphne can be contacted by phone on 028 9337 8410

Congregational Secretary

Arthur McQuitty has held the position of Congregational Secretary since 6th October 1971.

He was installed as an elder on 24th November 1985.


The Kirk Session

Daphne Bashford                 Mabel Bell                 Mark Campbell                 Robert Cowan
Anne Cowan                          David Cowan            James Cuthbert                Maurice Farquhar
Samuel McAllister               Josie McConnell      Stephen McFaul                Samuel McKibbin
Ethel McKibbin                   Arthur McQuitty      Derek Murphy                   Denise Savage

Site design by Blackdog Media